top of page
  • Writer's pictureOnetree House

Tess Duder in Live panel: Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement

Event Notice

Creative New Zealand, in partnership with Auckland Live and The Big Idea invites New Zealanders from across the motu to come together for a live, online panel discussion with this year’s recipients of the Prime Ministers Awards for Literary Achievement:

Tessa Duder (Fiction), Sir Tīmoti Kāretu (Ngāi Tūhoe, Ngāti Kahungunu) (Non-Fiction) and Jenny Bornholdt (Poetry) will read and discuss their work with New Zealand journalist and radio and television personality, John Campbell.

During the live stream, viewers can submit questions to the writers using the comment threads on Facebook and YouTube. The live stream will be recorded and made available for those that are unable to join.

This event is made possible with the support of Auckland Live. Presented in partnership with The Big Idea and supported by Unity Books Wellington.

Watch links

Tessa Duder CNZM OBE writes for children and young adults and is also an author of short stories, plays and non-fiction. Her well-known Alex novels (adapted for film and television) are critically acclaimed and have been published internationally and republished again recently by OneTree House.

Among her numerous distinctions are an OBE and the Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal. She won the 2003 Katherine Mansfield Memorial Fellowship, was awarded an Artists to Antarctica Fellowship in 2007 and was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by the University of Waikato in 2008.

She won the NZ Post Children’s Book Awards Senior Fiction prize in 2000 for The Tiggie Tompson Show, the Honour Awards Winner in 2010 for The Word Witch and has won multiple Storylines Notable Book awards.

In 2010, the Storylines Tessa Duder Award for young adult writers was established to recognise her outstanding contribution to children’s literature, both in her publishing output and her work to promote children’s books and publishing.

She was named a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit (CNZM) for services to literature in 2020.

She is a past president of the New Zealand Society of Authors (PEN NZ Inc), a former Trustee and deputy chair of the Spirit of Adventure Trust and a Trustee of the Storylines Children's Literature Trust of New Zealand

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page